Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Cambodia and Thailand agree on visa-free entry

Thailand and Cambodian signed on November 16 a visa exemption agreement during the 4th Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy Summit in Phnom Penh.

The visa-free entry will be effective from 16 December, allowing citizens of both countries to visit without having to apply for a visa, either at the embassy, or on arrival at a border check point.

It will undoubtedly encourage travel, foster people contacts and bolster the tourism sector of the two countries. Thais and Cambodians can stay in each other's countries for 14 days without the need to apply for a visa, as is required at present.

The agreement between Cambodia and Thailand now means the majority of the 10 ASEAN-member countries are in compliance with the ASEAN charter that calls for member countries to allow visa-free travel for all citizens of the regional community. The exception is Myanmar, which continues to require visas from all visitors whatever their nationality.


Post a Comment